European Union reopens to travelers from 14 countries, excluding the US

Travellers from Australia and 13 other 'safe' countries to be allowed into the EU

EU releases list of 14 “safe” countries for travel

The report claims that at least 55 per cent of the 27 nation European Union members have signed the list.

While the Government of Canada is still recommending against all non-essential worldwide travel, Canadians will be able to take vacations to Europe as soon as the "safe list" has been officially confirmed.

The list will act as a recommendation to European Union members, meaning they will nearly certainly not allow access to travellers from other countries, but could potentially set restrictions on those entering from the 14 nations.

The European Union (EU) has drawn up a list of 14 countries whose residents will be allowed to travel to the bloc's member states starting July 1.

With over 17K fresh cases, India 10K short of 5L mark
India recorded close to 20,000 Covid-19 cases in a single day for the first time on Sunday, taking the tally to 5,28,859. On Friday alone, 2,20,479 samples were tested, the highest in a day since the beginning of the pandemic.

Countries considered for the safe list are also expected to lift any bans they might have in place on European travelers.

The decree, which will be reassessed every two weeks, signals that the ban disrupting both business and leisure travel across the Atlantic won't be lifted until US authorities control the spread of the deadly virus. As per reports, the EU said China is "subject to confirmation of reciprocity", meaning it must lift all restrictions on European citizens entering China for its own citizens are to be allowed into EU member states.

When EU guidelines were released a few weeks ago officials said the list would take into account the infection rate in countries concerned.

However, the health-based criteria has collided with geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the USA while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

Fauci: U.S. could reach 100,000 new cases a day
More than half of all states are seeing an increase in cases, and Florida , Texas and Arizona are being particularly affected. However, he did offer a grim assessment for new cases, which are now exceeding the 40,000 mark this week.

Countries were included on the safe list if they had 16 cases or less for every 100.00 people over the last two weeks.

Whatever is decided in Brussels will exist only as a recommendation since border control remains a national competence and a limited number of flights to and from banned countries have continued throughout the crisis.

The country's borders have been closed since mid-March in support of the efforts seeking to contain the spread of COVID-19.

It remains to be seen whether Morocco will announce any plans to reopen its borders in the coming month.

MLB Has Yet To Submit Plan Needed To Play In Canada
Major League Baseball must get approval from the government as well as health authorities on Ontario. Anyone entering Canada for non-essential reasons must quarantine for 14 days, and the U.S.

Latest News